True Trac or Lockrite

NCbigdog

True Trac or Lockrite in D30

I have been wanting to a put Lockrite or True Trac in the front of my TJ but i don't know witch one to go with. My jeep is a DD so i don't want it to be hard to drive every day. Can anyone tell me the good an bad of both so i can pick witch one to go with .

LOCKRITE

I have no experience with the True Trac or Lockright, however I did have front and rear Detroit EZ Lockers (Detroit's lunchbox locker) in my CJ-7. They were in the stock D30 and the M20 with one piece axles with a Chevy 350 and 35's. Never had a problem with the lockers. Finally exploded the D30 and went to front and rear D44's with Detroits. The only reason I went with full Detroits is because I had to regear them anyway.

True Tracs do OK with 31-35 tires but some power braking is required if a tire comes off the ground. I have the D30 lockrite and it locks up in 4WD making turning harder but not impossible. Better upgrade your steering to be safe.

NCbigdog said:
I have been wanting to a put Lockrite or True Trac in the front of my TJ but i don't know witch one to go with. My jeep is a DD so i don't want it to be hard to drive every day. Can anyone tell me the good an bad of both so i can pick witch one to go with .

TJ front axle is ALWAYS engaged, I.E. the axles and drive shaft are always spinning when vehicle is in motion.

Locking the front axle would be pretty uncomfortable with out a method to unlock for daily driven use.

Lockright would ratchet in turns and be very hard on the axles and joints in daily driven use.

TrueTrac, while being a "limited slip" would be more forgiving on the axles and drivetrain would still impart some driving snesations you may not like while driving on the street, while still not being a "TRUE" locker off road where you want it.

The best options would be a lock out hub conversion or an ARB or Electric locker for the front. something that can be turned on and off as needed, being noneffective when off.