Newbie here and I have some winch questions.

moto696

Just bought an 02' Jeep Wrangler Sport with 3 & 1/2 in lift, 33" tires and need to put a winch on the front. Because I've already gotten stuck once. Don't want to spend an arm and leg on the winch, does anyone know of a good winch at a decent price with mounting plate, rollers and everything that I would need? I'm new at this, so I don't know exactly what I need. So if anyone could help me out, I'd appreciate it. And is there anything else I'd need besides a winch? Such as; the bare essentials that I would need to go off roading.

Thanks.

Warn M8000 is a fine winch, and isn't near $1000. But once you get the winch, a mount, tree saver, a few shackes, snatch block, etc.. I guess it can get up there...

I will only run Warn winches.

thanks guy
i am just going to do the weekend warrior thing.

Just get a $299 Harbor Freight 8k winch, I think I have a piece of channel laying around that I modified for mounting a winch on, and you're ready to go. Let me know if you're interested and I'll try to find it :)

If we can help you out with the mounting plate let us know. TJs are a little different than CJ/YJ stuff because you have the front swaybar to contend with and mount around. Not a big deal, just need to make sure you plan for it.

Andy