My slow 4runner build (mild wheeler)

andrewhove

I am a freshman at the University of North Carolina and bought this car back int he winter of my senior year of high school. It's only my second car project ever so it has come with many firsts My dad (tobers) has been a great help and very supportive, I really like that we get to work on it together.

Right now I can not build the truck too big for several reasons: 1. it is my work truck for my landscaping company.
2. It is my sisters daily driver while I am at school
3. I have very little money (starving college student complex)

I was looking for one of these forever and after about 10 tries on craigslist and the like (including several hellish experiences) I found one and payed 2200 for it.

Specs (when I got it)
88 4runner
230,000 miles (rebuilt 20,000 ago)
5sp
repainted fairly recently
3in body lift
transmission acting funny (popping out)
very minor fender rust.
really good interior
22re
almost rust free
bald 31in ATs

First thing was first, I had to deal with the transmission, bought one from Justinhartness sp? for 200 and embarked on my first transmission swap. Thought I would do the clutch while I was in there and the rear main seal. After way to much time on my back in the driveway and with some help I finished that. And.... the previous owner had screwed the tranny tunnel bc he chopped it like crazy for the body lift so I had to completely re make that.

Second I hated the 3 in body lift so I cut that in half and put new bolts in. I am now considering taking it out completely but it sure is nice to work on a car that has a slight body lift.

cut off those stupid side steps (bought a pair of sliders from chase but am yet to weld them) hopefully they will be welded in the next few weeks.

here are some pictures of when I got it.
http://s591.photobucket.com/albums/ss354/andrewhove/?newest=1