Hydro assist/power steering gurus needed

YJJPWrangler

vehicle specs: 91 4.3l Chevy V6. Stock power steering pump, ported Saginaw box, 1.5” ram. I am running a cooler and the line routing goes: pressure line from pump to box, lines to ram, return line from box to cooler to pump. I ported the box myself following instructions from @XJsavage as well as billavista tech post on pirate.

I have blown out the stub shaft seal twice today while trying to pressurize the system. I have replaced the seals on the pitman arm shaft and they are holding but I keep losing the stub shaft seal/dust cover. The last time it blew, it blew the spring in the seal past the dust cover. The box is now completely blown apart and I’m going to replace every seal that I can.

This is my first time running/setting up hydro assist. Does it matter which lines from the ram hook up to the ports on the box? My understanding is that both ports are high pressure and will send fluid to the ram based on steering wheel input. Is this a correct understanding?

The Jeep is running great but I have spent most of the day soaked from head to toe in power steering fluid. I can’t pull it outside bc no power steering and if I take the belt off I can’t run it for long because no water pump. So now this box is holding me back on everything. No burrs on the inside to cut a seal etc but once the system gets to pressure it sprays from the stub shaft seal.

What am I missing?

It matters which line goes to which side of the ram. Assuming it’s not a forward throw pitman arm and that you tapped the box on the side and didn’t use the top or front caps, the top port is for turning left, and the bottom port is for turning right. The orientation of your ram will dictate which port is used for turning each direction.

Last edited: