getting around OBDII

Elliott

Well I currently am working on the wiring for my AW4 swap into my 98 zj. I have done a good bit of research on the swap and found about all I need but am getting stumped on one thing. Since the AW4 uses a seperate control module (instead of the ECU like on OBDII vehicles) my check engine light will be on when the swap is done because it doesn't detect the tranny related sensors.

I'm not an electrical engineer by any means but are there any ways to trick the ECU? Maybe wire in some resistor to make the comp. think the old tranny is still in there? I can't have the CEL on because this thing is a street driven DD and has to pass inspection every year.

Thanks for any insight.

BTT. What is involved in switching over to an OBDI system found in 93-95 ZJ's? AW4's were in early ZJ's so that would make the swap a freaking breeze. Thanks.

find which sensors the 2 transmissions have in common, you'll have to integrate the newer trans sensors into the old trans some how.

"Just adding a resistor" probably isn't gonna help as the ECU is looking for a pulse/tone value from the sensors.

Backward engineering to an OBD1 system is still not gonna let you pass inspection as you still have to connect to the state OBD2 computer to verifiy VIN and emission info (which OBD1 does not do).

Ridgerunner said:
Just thought but can you use a ECU from a manual trans/ that way it won't care about the AW4

Were ZJ's offered with manual trans ? Would an XJ ECU cross over and integrate with the ZJ system ?

Remember seeing this on pbb, did a quick google and heres the link...

http://www.stu-offroad.com/engine/aw-4/aw-4-1.htm

Basically he swaped the AW4, from an XJ into his '97 TJ and its very well documented including all the wiring and ECM stuff.. Not sure if its exactly what you need but its a good read...

yea i have extensively read Stu's writeup, its awesome.