[Date TBD] Off Road Emergency Care

jonboyjs

Hi folks. This is a project I've been discussing with WNC locals, but could potentially turn into a great course for me to bring to you. I'm currently developing a course by this title that will encompass all aspects of first aid, but with a specification to the off road environment to dig more into environmental emergencies and types of injuries we'd expect to see off road. It will include some aspects of wilderness medicine as well since there aren't many injuries crawling at the mall. Originally, it wasn't going to be for any certification, but with what I'm currently looking at, I'll be able to provide a certification in first aid from the American Safety and Health Institute as I'm an instructor through them.

A bit about me and why I'm putting this out there. Many off road events don't have dedicated medical staff on site. A nasty rollover or ejection can result in serious loss of life or limb if folks don't know what to do. I'm a North Carolina and Nationally Registered Paramedic with a degree in Emergency Medical Science. I served as a search and rescue technician/medic for 5 years with Buncombe County Rescue Squad. I've worked as a paramedic in every aspect from 911 ambulance response to hostile site medic in Afghanistan. I have a good understanding of how to do more with less, as most folks would be presented with off road. I'm also going to put together a recommended kit for each rig and can probably do some pre-made med kits for a decent price.

For now, I'm gauging interest in this course and with enough response, I can set up a date and price. If you have any offline questions, just PM me and I'd be happy to relay my contact information.

I would attend if there were one closed by. I'm currently EMT but I can still learn something!

I would be interested as well. Never hope to have to use it but knowing is better than not being able to help at all.

No EMT but I can put a bandaid on like a professional