Weld table/cart build

BigSouth

Doesn't play well with others!
I have to admit that @jeepinmatt inspired me to finally throw my cart together. This Kennedy cart I bought surplus from the nuke plant. And no it doesn’t glow in the dark. Super heavy duty though. Rated for something stupid like 2000 pounds. The Certiflat top is a 2’x3’ and it’s been laying in my shop for at least 3 years. Here’s the before stuff.
68AA69C7-30A6-4583-8003-98A921C7E041.jpeg

9B454255-F604-4B82-ABDD-B25BD65570A3.jpeg

And now the finished product. 2x2 angle iron and a small piece of 16 gauge for the shelf. Added a few pieces of bling from Fireball tool and now I’m a semi pro fabri-cobbler.
4BBDF45B-3715-4AD8-9BFD-6280B120D54B.jpeg

B5B94C84-BA59-4A20-9D5E-059896A25E84.jpeg

43CBF2F6-4BF3-4608-B99D-918523ADF559.jpeg

ADF1A84A-082C-409B-BFB3-31AFBA9CA64B.jpeg

That's a handy looking setup.
I appreciate it. The only problem I’ve found so far is that having that top makes me wanna buy more of those fancy fixture clamps. One Bessey clamp ain’t gonna cut it.

That’s a really cool setup man! I have a really similar cart that I brought home from work. (control system mechanic in a chemical plant) I’ve been trying to figure out a good use for it. I thought about a welder cart, but my welders and plasma are old dinosaurs that are too big to fit on it.

That’s a really cool setup man! I have a really similar cart that I brought home from work. (control system mechanic in a chemical plant) I’ve been trying to figure out a good use for it. I thought about a welder cart, but my welders and plasma are old dinosaurs that are too big to fit on it.
Sell em and buy new smaller stuff. That's what got me going on mine.

A plasma is on my list to get. I’m pretty sure I can fit a Miller 375 on the same shelf beside the 211. That thing is tiny compared to the old stuff.

Love the cart! I've had an old craftsman toolbox rolling around the shop for years wanting to do something similar.