Tie down straps

lomodyj

I've been hooking my tie down straps to my frame now for a couple of years. I like it because I know it's not gonna get pulled off (like a bumper might) and it helps keep the suspension from moving the Jeep around while riding the trailer down the road.

I saw a bunch of people using the straps that go around the axle, a-la race car type straps...Wondering if there is any advantages to using the axle straps over the frame straps.

Any thoughts?

While there are surely varied opinions on this, you'll find that most professional haulers will compress the suspension to achive some degree of vehicle stability. ( by professional, I mean transporters and cross country hotshot drivers, most rollback operators are in too much of a hurry to do more that toss a chain anywhere the hook will grab)

Suspension compression will help keep your towed vehicle from swaying back and forth transmitting motion into your trailer.

Use straps/chains to the axles to restrain vehicle if the straps should break .

Kevin

You'll find as many opinions as people you ask. I've hauled both with the frame tied down and with the axles tied down. Compressing the suspension will reduce vehicle movement and the corresponding slight shifts in weight. However, the Mog is a pain to get the frame tied down well, with straps bending/resting on items sticking out from the frame risking a strap getting cut. The last time I hauled, I tied down the axles and it did pretty well. You notice the difference, but the Mog's suspension is stiff enough that the movements aren't that great. A super soft suspension and high sprung weight combo would be bad if you only grabbed the axles.

...as someone one mentioned this appears to be an opinions thing...I had always heard go over the axles because you are "not" gonna get the suspension compressed enough that a good bounce couldn't allow the vehicle to move?