School Me on Uwharrie

06MegaCab

Hey Everyone,

My name is Austin - I am new to wheeling in NC but not new to wheeling in the general sense. I am from Mississippi and did all of my wheeling in river basins and at Grayrock outside Birmingham.

The difference now is I have a wife and we are expecting our first child soon. I want to get her (and eventually our soon to be born daughter) hooked on off-roading. I took my wife out once in my old YJ while we were in college (it was on one tons 42 tsls) and I was doing my thing and inadvertently scared her on one trail (Things got a little tippy on a steep hill with deep washouts).

I currently have a 1985 CJ7 on 33s. I am going to have MARS install the 4.88s and lockers sitting in my garage in the next few weeks as soon as they have an opening so I will be taking an 85 cj on 33s locked front and rear to Uwharrie. My parents own a house across the river from there and we are starting to spend a lot of time out there so I want to start exploring the trails.

My question is this: what are some of the easiest "pink" trails that I can take my wife on that will get her comfortable with off roading while enjoying the scenery? As we continue to do it we will definitely hit all the trails, but for now I want to take her out and get her used to it while having a low chance of breaking and having to limp out or getting too tippy. I'm thinking something I can just lock the diffs and crawl around on.

Thanks and I look forward to getting to know all of you!

I would rate all these super easy
Wolfs den
Slab pile
Saw mill
Falls dam

These trails when wet can be challenging
Rocky mtn loop
Dutch John

uwharrie's most challenging
Dickey bell
Daniel

If you're used to wheeling none of these trails are really rough especially if your used to windrock or Harlan.