Project MyCorona

Buffy

Well I was cruising CracksList yesterday and came across a very nice looking 2000 XJ Sport with the 4.0L engine. It is rust free and with some minor body dings here and there. I got it from the second owner and is still very original. The engine has a rod knocking so a new engine will be in order. I think I will just buy a crate engine and swap it out and will probably go for a trans rebuild/replace while it is out. Also thinking about a 3 maybe 4 inch lift and go for about a 31” to 33” tire. I am new to these things so not sure what’s available but I know it’s a ton. Feel free to share words of wisdom or suggestions. The best part is I picked it up for $700.00. :cool::D

Now for some pictures:

8022ef3c99824a4695127c69ddcd5c93.jpeg

d64fd22ffc6c454994ee64eb52c11e75.jpeg

7d00ca4873a640c4856f89e30ce1f994.jpeg

687156aa9cf44a738837cf92a24c1d4c.jpeg

1050a5f95ce84e53956f8eb4b226f25c.jpeg

Wow nice jeep. I remember when mine was that clean. I would recommend the Rubicon express super ride 3.5 kit with the full leaf packs.

Sent from my SM-G981U using Tapatalk

The rod knock may be a cracked flex plate unless there is obvious sign of a true rod issue (lose of oil pressure etc.). Automatic cherokees are notorious for cracking the flex plate around the bolt holes to the crank shaft and sound very similar to a rod knock.

this may be the case as the engine revs very smooth. Other than the knocking sound the engine runs great. The owner never said it ran hot or anything like that.