New to the four wheel drive trail riding Hobby

Status
Not open for further replies.

PWRWGN MAN

Hi I have a question for the North Carolina Trail Blazers Club I'm interested in joining I'm new to the off-roading Hobby butt everybody I talk to is into the hardcore trail riding and I'm not interested in that I'm just interested in doing trail that a basic stock truck easily handle and either in the area or the surrounding areas have a lot of other various interests because I'm always taking my family alone he wanted to be a family Hobby I have a 2002 Ford Explorer that I use primarily that I don't care what happens to the body basically stock and I also in the process of purchasing a 2016 Ram Power Wagon fully equipped with locking differentials went the whole nine yards but I really don't want to be on Trails where it's going to get turned into swiss cheese with dents I don't mind a few scratches here and there that's just part of going off road but I seem to get a little discouraged by some of the hardcore guys that say I can't use that size truck to go off-roading does anyone have any other different thoughts and advice and comments please refrain from using disrespectful comments or discouraging comments I'm really trying hard to make this a family activity I'm not interested in rock crawling or driving through 5 feet of water stuff like that just to take the family out and have fun with camping and visiting local things while off roading to keep it interesting please help

Like @Jason W. advised in the general forum, hit up Scott at Uwharrie Off-Road Training Center | North Carolina and look into training courses. It's across the road from Uwharrie and will give you a VERY educated look into off-roading while allowing you to get a feel for what your comfort zone is.

As far as the trailblazers, anyone is welcome, and everyone is made to feel welcome (at least from what I've seen)