Load Range E Tires on 1/2 Ton Truck

ncsutj

Looking at new tires for my 13 1500 Silverado and looking hard at the Cooper AT3. Cooper has a $70 mail in rebate and discount tire has a $75 rebate right now. Stock tire is a 265/65R18 but I will probably step up to a 265/70R18. They only make a 275/65R18 in a load range C and everything else is E. Is a load range E tire over kill for a 1/2 ton truck that only tows my Jeep wrangler maybe 6 times a year? Is the unloaded ride going to be stiff? I have no experience with range E tires. They will be mounted on the stock rims.

265/70R18 for $169/tire
Tire Details - Discount Tire Direct

Last edited:
We bought the at3 for my wife's xterra and love them. I will buy them next for my tow rig.

I wouldn't be hesitant to use load range e on half ton at all. Just use a much lower air pressure to get even wear when not towing. This will greatly improve the ride empty. Just pump them up to 65-70 (for e) when towing.

3rd set (load range c though) on the exploder

10182_10151528106812638_202119584_n.jpg

GREAT road manners, and I've yet to get stuck in sand, mud, wet grass, or even pulling my car hauler up out of the woods behind the house in a downpour (read: I COVERED the trailer in mud throwing rooster tails at it, but made it up that massive hill pulling a trailer)

I get about 35-40k out of them depending on if I'm diligent in keeping the alignment correct :shaking: (friggin independent suspension)

Last edited:
Running 295/70R17 E range Toyo RT's on a 16 Silverado. It has a trailer behind it 2-3 days a week. They are heavier so it hit my mileage, but with just shy of 20k miles on them they are barely worn into the main tread block.

The RT has this little raise portion of the block on a new tire and they are barely worn past that with 20k on them.
Toyo_OpenCountry_RT_Detailed_Tread_watermarked.jpg