International Scout people - anyone on NC4x4?

Hey guys, trying to find some local knowledge.
I'm on the binderplanet and a bunch of FB groups but it would be nice to have someone around here with some knowledge I could chat with.
I picked up a 71 IH Scout 2 weekends ago.
It has the 345 and is sitting on 35's, 4.10s (I think!) and stock axles.
Has usual rust but it aint bad really.

Anyone know something about the IHs, just holler at me.
Thx

Attachments

• IH-IMG_4416.jpg
    IH-IMG_4416.jpg
    205 KB · Views: 224
Also don't have anything to add other than I really like Scouts and looked at a bunch before I found my Scrambler. Congrats! I'm a little envious :)

I've got some knowledge on them ;) But I'm not exactly local to you...

Binderplanet is a great source of knowledge for them.

They really aren't hard to work on, With most everything on them being parts you would find on a Jeep vehicle of the same era, they have Borg Warner (Manual) or Chrysler Torqueflite (Automatic) transmissions, Dana Transfer cases (Should be a D20 in yours), Dana Axles, GM steering and ignition parts. The only thing I've ever had problems getting were Fly Wheels and Air Filters!

The International 345 isn't anything unusual, and it's going to have an era typical carb on it, The only weird thing about them is that you time them off cylinder #8 instead of #1

Most every part you could need is available from Rock Auto, or local Parts houses.

Feel free to PM me if you have any questions at all, I'll be happy to answer them.

I've got some knowledge on them ;) But I'm not exactly local to you...

Feel free to PM me if you have any questions at all, I'll be happy to answer them.

Thanks.
First question I've been having a heck of a time tracking down is oil.
I've heard about Grade 1 and something about older dino oils with more Zinc.
What do you run?

I need to change the oil pan gasket and this is a good time as any to ensure I have good oil in it.