Diesel engine starting question

BRUISER

silent.. but deadly
Ok so question... since I am a Diesel Newb...

Yes I am looking for a good diesel that I can convert to WVO.. but my question is... with a diesel can you install an automatic started so you can start truck from inside house in the morning so by the time you get out there it is warm enough to switch to grease??

I know some have to let the glow plugs start before you crank it... so I guess if the remote starter had a delay on it then it should work correct???

also I have heard that with some remote starters if your car or truck is running you can reset remote start while vehicle is running and then take your key out of ignition lock vehicle and go inside store so you do nto have to worry about turn truck/car off and also if someone breaks into vehicle as soon as the push break pedal it will turn off without key in ignition..

so wouldn't this help also with quick stops to run into stores etc.. since that way you do nto have to switch between diesel and grease at each stop...

mainly just thinking out loud...

Hey Ken!

For starting, I know the Cummins I got will start right up - no need to wait for glow plugs. Once it gets cold, that may be a different story - I'm sure Rich can fill you in.

My 6.2 takes significant glow plug time. I can crank it before the light goes off in summer, no prob. But even as cold as it is in the morning right now, I need to wait for the glow plugs to finish.

It would be cool if the remote start has a way to select "ignition on" (which would activate glow plugs) and "start" (which would actually fire the starter), but I'm not sure if any have that.

I know it's possible. DC used to have remote start on an f350 he had.