Cycled my 4 link today.. Have a few questions

GearHead11

So I finally got to where I could cycle my front end today. Everything clears about as I expected it to. With both sides at full stuff, I get 4" of up with the diff hitting the frame being my limiting factor. If only one side stuffs and the other is at ride height or drooped it clears more than 4" of up. I could notch the frame to fix the diff clearance issue but my axle side uppers would then hit the rim of the oil pan and the only way around that would be to extend the wheelbase and all 4 links. I'm already at 106" on 37's with a 19" belly so I don't want to go longer so my question is.. do I set the shocks to have 4" of up to match the double stuff number or set it up with a little more so as not to limit the bump/droop scenario and set bump stops up to limit the double stuff scenario? This is my first time with links so I have/am still learning.

full

full

full

full

full

full

IMO set the shocks to have slightly more than 4" of travel and mount your bump stops to limit it where you want so that the shock is almost bottomed out when the bump is. I am not a fan of shocks compressing to the point where the body of the lower eyelet contacts the body of the shock. Its an absolutely brutal feeling when it happens.

IMO set the shocks to have slightly more than 4" of travel and mount your bump stops to limit it where you want so that the shock is almost bottomed out when the bump is. I am not a fan of shocks compressing to the point where the body of the lower eyelet contacts the body of the shock. Its an absolutely brutal feeling when it happens.

Oh I know... anytime I tried to rally the tacoma I was knocking teeth out

I would move the upper links out enough to clear the oil pan and notch the frame to get a little more up travel than just 4".

Since the lowers have almost no triangulation don't I need as much triangulation as I can get on the uppers to keep the axle centered?