beach driving in 2wd

RenegadeT

no shirt,no shoes,no dice
co-working was asking my opinion on beach driving in 2wd. Its been a while, so I figured I'd post up for more informed opinions here.
He's got a 2wd early 90s Tundra V8, wants to take it on the OBX. I think its got a limited slip...would adding a locker make it OK for cruising the beach, or is that just gonna get him stuck further out? I guess there are bigass RVs out there that get away with only 2wd, that got him thinking he might be able to take his truck out there.

Getting to and from the Beach is the problem, once near the water it's usually OK but even 4wds can get stuck in the "sugar sand" or areas where it is rutted badly from lots of traffic. I think 2wd w a traction aid and the right tires ( big,wide and bald ) and experience could manage most areas but I'm no expert although I have been stuck and helped folks get unstuck quite a few times!!

What part of the OBX? If it is Corrolla or Carolina Beach (North End), he should be OK. If it is Fort Fisher or some parts around the lighthouse it might get a little hairy. I work with a guy who has a 2WD Tundra and as long as he airs down and takes it easy he has no problem. Any extra weight in the back will help, and stay off the gas.