Anything to see at Uwharrie?

Discussion in 'Uwharrie News' started by TJDale, Oct 22, 2019.

1. TJDale

TJDale Active Member

I've been going to Uwharrie for years. I ride all the trails and have a fine time. No it's not very challenging but it's close enough for me and my son to go ride some trails, we don't have much to choose from in Florence.

We are headed up there to camp this weekend and I was wonder what else their might be to see. Do any of you have any tips on things to see up there that wouldn't usually be seen from the trail? Maybe something only accessible by foot? I think I read about a scenic lookout that you can hike to from one of the OHV trails? Or maybe an out of the way waterfall? Anything?

Arm is still kinda broke so kayaking, conoeing, shooting are out.

Attached Files:

2. R Q

R Q Well-Known Member

Just go and have fun.

3. TJDale

TJDale Active Member

I've been doing that for about 18 years up there. I just wonder if I'm missing anything. I want to explore the area a little more.

4. 87TPIYJ

87TPIYJ Well-Known Member

You could walk down Rocky Mtn loop and see what was Kodak. I did that last year. Its crazy how much it has filled in. Almost not recognizable.

88bronzetrooper, R Q and NickMaul like this.
  5. TJDale

TJDale Active Member

Thats a good idea. I haven't seen it in years. My son never has.

6. 77GreenMachine

77GreenMachine Phillip Talton

I have some pics I’ll post later, but there are some huge, I mean MASSIVE boulders in one area of a horse/hiking trail. Very worth walking too. Me and my daughter hiked there a few years ago, from there you’re not very far from a pretty cool spot right on the lake.

7. 77GreenMachine

77GreenMachine Phillip Talton

That’s the only pic I have, but there are lots of those boulders. Just a big grouping of them, taller than a house. It’s called “Nifty Rocks” on the map.
    F0F177BB-6572-4594-86F2-95847F5C5544.jpeg

The spot by the lake is nice, only accessible by boat or on foot/horse.