88 Trooper problems

1stgenxxx

I just purchased an 88 Trooper from a friend. It has the EFI 4cylinder engine in it. The trooper had been sitting for about 8 months with out being started. It has new plugs/wires/distributor/rotor button/starter. It is getting fire but I can't seem to get it to crank. It has started to crank a few times when we completely covered the throtle body. I have checked all the fuses and I can't figure out what is going wrong with this thing. Input would be greatly appreciated.

what do you mean hand over the throttle body? if you have the air inlet hose removed, that's your problem. everything has to be hooked up to the tb so that the air meter can function correctly.

It wouldn't do anything when the hose was connected right.

I'm not very good with engines...any tricks to get this thing to fire even for just a little bit so I will know it runs??

has anyone has simular problems???

Explain exactly what it does when you try to start it. Does it turn over slowly? Is it getting gas? Water in the gas? TB clogged? Plugs gapped correctly? There are numerous things that could keep it from starting.

when you say Crank you mean start right?
Check your fuel pressure there should be a shrader valve(like tire air valve) somewhere on the fuel line. push the valve to see if you are getting fuel pressure. you can also use starting fluid to get ito fire.
Also check your fuses you might have a injector/ecm fuse bad or missing.

Are you sure the new plug wires are on correctly (ask Bruiser about that..... LOL)
unless you have a mass air flow sensors it should run without the air intake connected, but even if you do it should still start.