4x Focus... on Chris Marshall and MarsFab Offroad!

NC4x4

aimg.nc4x4.net_wp_2012_05_DSC_0366_198x300.jpgChris Marshall started his fabrication career helping his dad build a brush guard for his '92 S-10 Blazer. At the age of 14 or 15, his dad was buying up cheap tools to fix and resell, and it snowballed from the brush guard to a roof rack to projects on his own 1991 Explorer.

Chris says, "I started working on projects for friends and trying to learn everything I could. Over the next ten or so years I worked as a landscaper, a structural steel welder and a parts runner for an auto parts company all while doing fab projects in my dad's garage on the weekends. I wanted to end up with my own "official" fab shop. Well the landscaping business I was working for was drying up fast and I needed to come up with another job asap. My wife and I were settled into our house, she had a good job, it seemed like a great time to start a business. So almost 3 years ago to the day I opened up shop and started doing what I love for a living!"

MarsFab Offroad, in Harrisburg, NC, is a shop that specializes in off-road fabrication.

Chris says he's worked on everything from lawn chairs to bulldozers. He admits it is hard work. His advice to someone interested in getting into the business?

"Don't start a 4wd shop because you want to be the owner of a big company and make millions... Do it because you have a passion for the sport. I've learned that in this industry we have some of the most loyal customers. Do you and them a favor and take pride in what you put out on the trails."

Chris takes great pride in his work, and with good reason.

"There is no better feeling than posting pictures online of something I built and everyone saying how cool it is or how awesome it turned out. That makes it all worth it!"

aimg.nc4x4.net_wp_2012_05_ImageUploadedByTapatalk1318973830.342020.jpg