12 valve help

pipeline

I'm new to diesel's but have a mechanic background. I have a 97 Dodge 3500 dually that I purchased a few months ago. It has a few quirks but Hasn't been to bad till yesterday. I was letting it warm up and smelled something burning then I noticed smoke coming from under the hood. So today I had someone else help me look for the location of the source of the smoke. I quickly saw something on the drivers side of the block start glowing red and smoking as soon as the switch was on. It was coming from the top of something that looks similar to a fuel bowl/filter. Any Ideas on what this is?

I also have a problem with the truck going out of overdrive at times. It will intermitantly change in and out of OD. While it is doing this the Tach will quit and the voltage guage will drop. Was told this might be the tp sensor?

Also my cruise control doesn't work.

Wondering if tp sensor/apps is the problem
Thanks, Eric

Sounds like the grid heater, aka air inlet pre-heater, kind of like a toaster oven element to pre-heat the air (this is why you don't use ether staring fluid). Dunno if its stuck on or what. The relay is up front on top of the drivers side rail, as you might imagine, its got a beefy cable to/from it, right off the drivers side battery. It'd be nice to have with winter coming, but you could probably run with out it, especially while you diagnose this. It might be different if we were in Montana or some place that got real cold.