Suzuki Samurai Toyota axle swap

Bearlyphased

I just picked up a Sammi and I have heard how easy it is to put a set of Toyota axles under it. I know I will basically be doing an axle flip so I will need new leaf spring perches for the front and rear and of course new wheels. My question is, just how basic (and cheep) can I do this? Can I use factory Sammi springs? Can I keep my Sammi steering box? Can I keep my factory steering linkage or do I have to buy a high steer kit? I know I’ll need new brake lines and shocks but what about drive shafts? I’m very new to the Samurai world since I’ve never owned anything smaller than a full size. Any info will help….Thanks!

Depending on where you put your axles, you can use sami driveshafts, but you might experience a little binding in your rear driveshaft because the toy rear is centered not offset like the sami. A little grinding will fix it. Oh and the guy at LowRange is a super nice guy. I've bought parts from him a few times and it never takes long to get'em. But, he is an avid wheeler and runs his business by himself so take that into consideration.

Depending on where you put your axles, you can use sami driveshafts, but you might experience a little binding in your rear driveshaft because the toy rear is centered not offset like the sami. A little grinding will fix it. Oh and the guy at LowRange is a super nice guy. I've bought parts from him a few times and it never takes long to get'em. But, he is an avid wheeler and runs his business by himself so take that into consideration.

Thanks guys for your help. Lilfoot, you say a little grinding will fix the binding, what would I have to grind down? This is a little off subject but, what size tires could I run on the factory axles with out breaking an axle? I just bought a transfercase shifter sheet from lowrange. They do offer alot for samurais. Again, thanks for your help guys.